10 C
Sunday, November 27, 2022
HomePakistanTwenty-one major setbacks in Pakistan General Election 2018

Twenty-one major setbacks in Pakistan General Election 2018

Published on

By Ukasha Mughal

The result of General Election 2018 of Pakistan shocked many citizens and candidate as the competition witnessed 21 major upsets. Citizen not only Pakistan but also from other countries eagerly awaited for the result of General Election 2018. The result caused the biggest upset in political history of Pakistan.

Starting from NA-3, in this constituency, former minister of Punjab that belonged to Pakistan Muslim league Nawaz (PML-N), lost Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) candidate Saleem Rehman in Sawat 2, Saleem Rehman got almost 68,162 votes and Shehbaz Sharif secured round about 22,756 votes.

Next upset is from NA-245 In this area, backbone of Muthida Qumi movement (MQM) Dr. Farooque Sattar, faced defeat in Karachi East 4 against PTI member Dr. Amir Liaquat Hussain. Faroque Sattar got about 35,247 votes while Amir Liaquat secured around 56,615 votes.

Former state minister of Water and Power and candidate of PML-N Abid Sher Ali faced defeat in his own consequence NA-108 Faisalabad 8 against candidate of PTI. PTI candidate Farukh Habib got success by securing near to 112,740 votes while Abid Sher Ali received on the brink of 111,529 votes.

Another major setback, Chaudhary Nisar lost his seat as independent candidate from NA-63 Rawalpindi 7. PTI candidate Gulam Sarwar got almost 100,986 votes and round about 66,610 votes were casted in the favor of the Chaudhary Nisar.

Former Railway minister and candidate of PML-N Khwaja Saad Rafique were unable to win in Lahore 9 NA-131.Saad Rafique was defeated by Chairman of PTI. Ex-railway minister received approximately 83,633 votes and Imran Khan secured close to 84,313 votes.

NA-7 chief of Jamat-e- Islami Siraj ul Haq lost the MMA seat to PTI candidate Muhammad Bashir Khan in Lower Dir. 2. Muhammad Bashir Khan got on the brink of 63,017 votes while JI chief secured just about46, 040 votes.

Chairperson of Pakistan People Party (PPP) Bilal Bhutto Zardari faced a setback defeat in NA-246 Karachi south 1 against candidate of PTI Muhammad Abdul Shkoor Shad. Shakoor Shad secured 52,752 votes and got first position in this poll and Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP) candidate got second position by 42,345 votes while PPP chairperson got third position and got 39,325.

Tough competition between Shehbaz Sharif and Faisal wawda in NA-249 Karachi West 2. PML-N candidate faced defeat by PTI candidate Faisal. PTI candidate received approximately 35,344 and other hand Shehbaz Sharif got nearly 34,626.

Former Prime Minister and Ex-Pakistan People Party (PPP) leader Yousaf Raza Gillani lost his seat in NA-158 Multan 5 against PTI candidate Muhammad Ibrahim khan. Ex-PM secured almost 74,443 while PTI candidate won with round about 83,304 votes.

Next setback was from PTI candidate Abdul Aleem Khan Whos lost in NA- 129 Lahore 7 to PML-N candidate and former National Assembly speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadique. Aleem Khan secured near to 94,879 votes and Ex-National assembly speaker got around 103,021 votes.

Former chief minister of Punjab Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif and minister of PML-N lost another seat from NA-192 DG Khan 4 against PTI candidate Muhammad Khan Leghari. PTI candidate secured close to 80,522 votes and Ex-chief minister of Punjab got just to 67,608 votes.

Awami National Party (ANP) leader Asfandyar Wali defeated in NA-24 Charsada against PTI candidate Fazal Muhammad Khan. ANP leader Asfandyar secured almost 59,483 votes and PTI candidate Fazal Muhammad Khan got round about 83,495 votes.

NA-53 Ex- Prime minister of Pakistan Shahid Khaqan Abbasi lost another seat against PTI chairperson Imran Khan by approximately 44,314 votes and Imran Khan received close upone 92,891 votes.

MMA leader Molana Fazlur Rehman faced defeate in NA-39 Dera Ismail Khan 2 against PTI candidate Yaqub Sheikh. Yaqub got nearly 55, 11 votes and MMA leader received round about 51,920 votes.

NA-38 MMA leader Fazlur Rehman lost in Dera Ismail Khan 1 against PTI candidate Ali Ameen Khan Gandapur. Fazlur Rehman got closely 45,457 and around 80,236 votes were casted in the favor of Gandapur.

Awami National Party (ANP) Gulam Ahmed Bilor faced defeat against PTI candidate Shaukat Ali in NA-31 Peshawar 5. ANP candidate secured approximately 42,476 votes and Shokat Ali got round about 87,895 votes.

Faisalabad 2 NA-102 Tallal chaudhary lost by nearly 97,864 while PTI candidate Nawab Sher Waser got on the brink of 109,708.

NA-57 Ex-prime minister of Pakistan Shahid Khaqan Abbasi also lost Rawalpindi seat against PTI candidate Sadiq Ali Abbasi. Ex- PM got approximately 91,381 votes and Sadiq Ali secured nearly 136,249 votes.

Province Baluchistan (PB-10) EX- Home minister of Baluchistan Sarfraz Bugti faced defeat against Jamhori wattan Party (JWP) Gohram Bugti. Formal provincial Home minister secured 15,161 votes in the comparison to Guram Bugti round about close to24, 350 votes.

Baluchistan National Party (BNP) candidate Naseer Ahmed won with near to 6,795 votes in Quetta 9 against MMA Abdul Ghafoor Haideri who received just about 4,434 votes.

Latest articles

VCs shocked over higher education budget cut

HEC will get only  Rs30 billion recurring grant against  demand of Rs104.983 billion The allocation...

ITA holds Policy dialogue on Child Friendly Libraries

Participants at a policy dialogue on child-friendly libraries urged to promote learning habits through...

HEC issues statement against own Chairman Dr. Banuri

Chairman HEC’s Allegations of Interference in HEC, Universities Refuted by HEC, govt Staff Report ISLAMABAD: The...

HEC abolishes endorsement requirement for TTS

Staff Report   Islamabad (February 7, 2022): As a step forward towards enhancing the universities autonomy, the...