37 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024
HomePakistanSyndicate Elections (2018-2021)

Syndicate Elections (2018-2021)

Published on



Lahore:(29 January 2018) Syndicate Elections (2018-2021) being conducted for the designation of Professor, Associate professor ,Assistant professor and lecturer in Punjab University, WAHEED SHAHEED HALL Institute of education and research.

On the seat of ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR, PU TF’s Dr Mahboob Hussain, TF Founders Group Dr Hafiz Muhammad Rafiq and Academic Forum’s Dr Asmatullah were contesting. Dr Mahboob Hussain bagged 26 votes while Dr Asmatullah got 19 votes and Dr Hafiz Rafique got 9 votes. Faculty Strengthening Forum’s Dr Khalil Ahmed could got only 1 vote.

On the seat of PROFESSOR, Teachers Front’s Prof Dr Sajid Rashid, Teachers Front (Founders Group) Prof Dr Shahid Ghazi and PU Academic Forum’s Prof Dr Khalid Mahmood were contesting. Prof Dr Sajid Rashid got 28 votes,  Prof Dr Khalid Mahmood got 20 votes and Prof Dr Shahid Javed Ghazi bagged 15 votes.

On LECTURER’S seat, PU Academic Forum’s Mr Abdul Majid Khan Rana, PU TF Founders Group’s Shumaila Gul, PU Teachers’ Front’s Yumna Sadaf and FSF’s Dayaab Ali Gillani were contesting. Mr Majid Khan 58, Shumaila Gul got 48, Yumna Sadaf got 44 while Dayaab Gillani got 07 votes.

On the seat of ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, PU TF Founders’ Group’ Mr Javed Sami, PU TF’s Chaudhry Naeemullah, PU Academic Forum’s Iftikhar Ahmed Tarrar and FSF’s Dr Usman Awan were contesting. Javed Sami got 95, Iftikhar Ahmed Tarrar got 78, Chaudhry Naeemullah got 71 and Usman Awan got 16 votes.

Syndicate is a major important body of university that makes and approves policies, calendar and regulations of university. It is presided by the Vice Chancellor of the university.All the candidates were very competent for the seats. University professors, lecturers, associates and assistant professors fully participated in it.

Vice chancellor Dr. Zakria Zakir has congratulated newly elected members for syndicate and academic council. In his press statement, Dr Zakria Zakir expressed the hope that the newly elected members would play their role for improving academic environment and research standards of the university further.

Latest articles

UMT confers Sohail Warraich with ‘Prof of Practice’ title

Sohail Warraich a valuable asset of nation, says Rector Dr. Asif Raza Staff Report  Lahore (...

UMT awards degrees to 1795 graduates at 26th convocation

By Syed Fakhar Abbas LAHORE ( May 9, 2024): University of Management and Technology (UMT)...

Lahoris purchase 400,000 new vehicles annually  

City of 15 million people faces traffic mess as one of top problems  By Syeda...

Traffic problems in Lahore

By Rida Riaz LAHORE: The traffic problems are on the rise in the provincial capital...