36 C
Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeMost ImportantTimes Higher Education Awards 2017 announced

Times Higher Education Awards 2017 announced

Published on


Awards presented in 19 categories to recognise outstanding contributions to UK higher education

 Monitoring Desk
The Nottingham Trent University has been crowned University of the Year at the Times Higher Education Awards 2017. Judges praised the institution for “combining bold ambition with the hard work and commitment required to turn vision into reality”, highlighting the university’s impressive record on outreach and its use of learning analytics to improve retention, according to Times Higher Education report by Chris Havergal.

The awards were presented at a ceremony hosted by the comedian Al Murray at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel. They recognise UK universities and their staff for exceptional teaching, research, student support, entrepreneurship, collaborations and outreach.

“This year has been a tough one for universities, which have been buffeted not only by the rapidly changing policy environment but also by an unprecedented succession of headlines questioning what they do and how they do it,” said John Gill, THE’s editor.

“The winners of this year’s Times Higher Education Awards offer the perfect response, illustrating the extraordinary talent, creativity and sheer hard work that is to be found across our university sector.

“The reality is that universities are teeming with brilliant individuals and teams who add far more to the health, wealth and happiness of the country than is often recognised. Our sincere congratulations to the winners, and to all those who made up the shortlists.”

Other winners included Loughborough University, which topped the Technological Innovation of the Year category for its work on reducing emissions of nitrogen oxides from diesel engines, and whose Matthew Inglis, a reader in its Mathematics Education Centre, was named Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year.

Cardiff University also collected two prizes: Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community, for an archaeology project that helps to tackle social exclusion on a deprived housing estate, and International Collaboration of the Year, in partnership with the University of Namibia.

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award went to John Curtice, professor of politics at the University of Strathclyde, in recognition of the contribution that his expertise in polling has made to public understanding of recent elections and referendums. Professor Curtice is, the citation said, “living proof that expertise retains a central role in national life”.

[email protected]

For more information, see our online winners supplement. View photos from the event on our Flickr page.

Times Higher Education Awards 2017 winners

University of the Year
Nottingham Trent University

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year
Russell Crawford, Keele University

Outstanding University Entrepreneurship Award
Liverpool John Moores University

Technological Innovation of the Year
Loughborough University

Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration
Ryder Architecture, in collaboration with Northumbria University

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts
University of Brighton

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development
University of Glasgow

THE DataPoints Merit Award
University of Leicester

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year
Kingston University

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community
Cardiff University

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year
Matthew Inglis, Loughborough University

International Collaboration of the Year
Cardiff University, in collaboration with the University of Namibia

Research Project of the Year: STEM
Heriot-Watt University on behalf of the Edinburgh Super-Resolution Imaging Consortium

Highly commended: London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of London, on behalf of The WOMAN Trial

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
School of Advanced Study, University of London

Highly commended: Heriot-Watt University

Most Improved Student Experience
Staffordshire University

Outstanding Support for Students
University of Kent

Highly commended: Durham University

International Impact Award
The Open University

Business School of the Year
Saïd Business SchoolUniversity of Oxford

Highly commended: ESCP Europe Business School (London)

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award
John Curtice, University of Strathclyde

Source: THE Reporter By Chris Havergal

Latest articles

UMT confers Sohail Warraich with ‘Prof of Practice’ title

Sohail Warraich a valuable asset of nation, says Rector Dr. Asif Raza Staff Report  Lahore (...

UMT awards degrees to 1795 graduates at 26th convocation

By Syed Fakhar Abbas LAHORE ( May 9, 2024): University of Management and Technology (UMT)...

Lahoris purchase 400,000 new vehicles annually  

City of 15 million people faces traffic mess as one of top problems  By Syeda...

Traffic problems in Lahore

By Rida Riaz LAHORE: The traffic problems are on the rise in the provincial capital...